Hopes and Seams

Crafts, refashions, and sewings to DIY my way through life

The Peplum.

This is a refashion I did soon after I found out I was pregnant. It was an awkward time when my clothes, especially the pencil skirts that I favor, were getting a little tighter but the pregnancy weight just looked like, well, fat.

With a wedding looming around the corner, I had nearly nothing in my closet that fit and I was really sad about it. I needed something that would hide my belly, but still have the silhouette that worked for me. I needed. The Peplum.

This “tutorial” is actually a copy of a legitimate tutorial by Sarah of “Welcome to the G00d Life“. Her Anthropologie inspired peplum skirt is the real deal!

DSC_0567I found this skirt at goodwill for a few dollars. I knew it was the perfect candidate because it was a medium weight fabric (not too hot, not too cold), the waist was juuust the right size, and it was about 4 inches too long (you’ll know why I thought that was good in a second!)

DSC_0569

I marked where I wanted my new skirt to hit, and lopped off the bottom about a half inch below that mark (that half inch is needed to fold under twice and sew down as a new hem.) That piece I just cut off the bottom was about to become my new belly hiding peplum!

DSC_0572The 4 inch wide piece I cut off the bottom was a tube that had a raw top edge, a hemmed bottom edge, and two side seams. Basically, the idea is to take this tube and move it up to the waist to make the peplum. I cut the front of the tube (one layer of fabric – don’t cut through 2 layers of fabric!) straight up the middle, front and center, so that, if all unfurled, it would be a long strip instead of a tube. I then took the edges of the cut I had just made, and cut the bottom corners to round off into the bottom edge (the hemmed one). The last thing I did with my strip was gather the top (raw) edge to measure the same as the waist, but you could easily just pleat it (which is what Sarah did).

DSC_0571I didn’t want my peplum layer to show at all, so I carefully picked off the waistband with a seam ripper. I then positioned my new peplum on top of the skirt, making sure to match up the side seams.

DSC_0573I carefully sandwiched everything with the waistband again and secured everything with lots of pins (like, A LOT of pins!). After everything was sure not to budge, I carefully sewed the waistband back on.

DSC_0574The last step was to fold the raw edge on the bottom over twice and sew in place for a new hem. My skirt also had a lining, so I had to cut, fold, and re-hem that too 🙂

New folder1

done! I seriously love this skirt and wear it a LOT. I think it’s my most-used refashion to date! For that wedding, I wore The Peplum with another figure forgiving refashion – my elastic-in-the-back prisoner shirt.

New folder

before and after

🙂 fun!

P.S. clearly I’m crazy for peplums. you should be too.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “The Peplum.

  1. SUPER cute sara! good job!! 🙂

  2. I love that you’re back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

