Hopes and Seams

Crafts, refashions, and sewings to DIY my way through life

The Skinny on Skinnies

MATERIALS NEEDED: pants to skinnify, marking pen, pins, sewing machine with coordinating thread.

I have these pants that my sister found for $1. I never wear them because they make me....well....you can see for yourself in the picture. 😦 sigh. It's such a shame because the waist and length are perfect, but they make me feel like a man.

SO...I laid those babies out on the floor inside out...

....and lay some existing skinnies directly on top. Matching up the outside seams, I used a fabric pen to trace where the inside seams of my skinnies fell. If you're doing this, you'll want to look at your own pants and see which seam will be best to take in; usually there is one that has a thick decorative seam, and another that lies flat. If your outside seam is the flat one, then I would bring that seam in rather than the inside seam.

(sorry bad picture) see the line? After this, I pinned one of the legs up with pins...

...and tried it on (yep, inside out!), adjusting where the fabric was pulling too tightly.

Starting at the crotch, I sewed down the new inner seam.

After trying it on one more time to make sure it fit the way I wanted, I cut the excess fabric, and zigzag stitched over the unfinished edge so that the fabric wouldn't fray.

I folded the pants in half and marked the other leg up (do you see the blue line?). I did it this way to make sure my two legs were symmetrical. Repeat the process on the other side (starting at the crotch, sew down the leg, cut excess fabric. Check to see if they fit and both legs are even)

and heeeyyyyyy~~

New skinny pants! 🙂 I still look dumpy, but....LESS dumpy, right?? 🙂 hehee.

so. many. tutorials!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “The Skinny on Skinnies

  1. this is a great idea. i should just hire you to tailor all the pants that don’t fit me anymore.

  2. i always wondered if this was possible…. thanks for this! i’ll probably consult this in the future when i have a sewing machine. and time.

  3. thanks! it’s super duper easy (if you have a machine :))

Leave a Reply

