Hopes and Seams

Crafts, refashions, and sewings to DIY my way through life

Love and Goodwill

Scour your nearest Goodwill store for pretty things that could be put together for your stand. I found two small plates, a ceramic bud vase, and a crystal candle holder. Total: $6 (ish)

More love to Thee, O Christ, more love to Thee!

Hear Thou the prayer I make on bended knee.

Epoxy: my best friend
Give your treasures a good wash. While they dry, let me introduce you to my other best friend (aside from my hot glue gun): EPOXY. My genius engineer husband introduced me to Mr. Epoxy as a super strong adhesive to glue together ANYTHING I WANT!!!

This is my earnest plea: More love, O Christ, to Thee;

More love to Thee, more love to Thee!

Push the epoxy into a disposable thingamabob. Mix with another disposable thingamabob. It takes a few minutes to set, so very quickly…
…grab your dry treasures and figure out how you want to arrange them. I paired the candle holder with the fancier plate, and the ceramic floral plate with the bud vase. 🙂 I thought the vase looked better as a base when it was upside down.

Once earthly joy I craved, sought peace and rest;

Now Thee alone I seek, give what is best.

Place plates face down.

This all my prayer shall be: More love, O Christ, to Thee;

More love to Thee, more love to Thee!

Apply epoxy to surfaces that will be in contact with plates. :/ You can’t see the epoxy, sorry. It’s the shiny stuff. I used the stick thing to apply it around the candle holder, and I used an old makeup sponge for the bottom of the vase.

Let sorrow do its work, come grief and pain;

Sweet are Thy messengers, sweet their refrain,

Glue the bases to the plates! Just eyeball to make sure it’s centered.

When they can sing with me: More love, O Christ, to Thee;

More love to Thee, more love to Thee!

Time for the hardest part: waiting. I hate waiting for epoxy to set. Genius husband always says I need to wait a day before moving it, but I would say that within 10 minutes, it sets enough to move carefully. But let’s be patient today, so grab a bag of flour…
…and a bag of sugar to set on top. You probably don’t NEED to do this, but whatevs. Let it sit for a night…

Then shall my latest breath whisper Thy praise;

This be the parting cry my heart shall raise;

…and on the following morning, flip over and VOILA! ah! *swoon* AAAHH!!!!
my new bracelet stand. 🙂 yessss!!!!!!!
HI you little CUTIE!!
Have a tea party. By yourself.

This still its prayer shall be: More love, O Christ, to Thee;

More love to Thee, more love to Thee!

love.
squeal, smile, and enjoy! 🙂

“More Love to Thee, O Christ”

by Elizabeth P. Prentiss (1818-1878)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

