Hopes and Seams

Crafts, refashions, and sewings to DIY my way through life

Peplum Dress

I got this big shapeless dress for free! :) So I knew I could experiment with it. I learned how to make darts, install an invisible zipper, and just generally bring in a dress in places that are too loose! So much fun…

PART 1: TOP. Ripped out those shoulder pads and waist ties!

Cut the dress at my natural waist

Then I made darts! MINI TUTORIAL: DARTS. Not sure how you’re supposed to make darts, but this is how I did it: measured my waist and divided in half (28/2=14). Measured the width of the top and figured the difference between it and my waist (20-14=6). Measured and marked at 1/4 and 3/4 of the width on the top (so I made marks at 5″ and 15″) then drew a dot directly 5 inches above each mark. Knowing the top had to be brought in 6″, each dart would have to be 3″ wide, so I measured 3″, centered it on the bottom mark, and marked each side. So I basically drew 2 equilateral triangles with 3″ bases, 5″ height. You probably don’t need to draw the sides, but I did because I was nervous :P

I pinched each triangle in half, and sewed along the “side”

They looked like this! I did darts on the front and back of the top. :) After this, I tried it on inside out, and brought in the sides, shoulders, and sleeves a little more to be more fitted.

WAISTBAND: Found some coordinating fabric

Measured it around my waist and cut it into a strip. Pinned and sewed it to the bottom of the top (right sides together)! :) Top is DONE!

PART 2: SKIRT. I cut the skirt at the knee and cut the remaining fabric into equal sized strips (ish)

I sewed & cut the skirt into a box shape that was the width of my hips

DARTS front and back of skirt! :)

Hemmed the bottom and sewed the outer edges to give the skirt more of a pencil shape. The skirt’s done! All that’s left is the peplum!

MINI TUTORIAL: PEPLUM. ok, this is lame, but this is the exact same thing I did for my paper bag skirt. Those strips from the bottom of the skirt? I opened them up, and sewed them, right sides together, on each side and that long left edge. Then I flipped it inside out.

So it’s a looooong strip, and I just gathered it on that raw edge! You remember how to ruffle fabric, right? ;)

Oh peplum, I love you already

I pinned it to the top of my skirt (right side facing out)

Then pinned my top/waistband to it and sewed it all down! Basically, it’s a sandwich: skirt, peplum, and waistband, with the right sides facing in. You can’t see in the pic, but the top is pinned and sewn on upside down

PART 3: FINISHING TOUCHES. I opened up the back and installed an invisible zipper. (super confusing! I had to youtube it, but pleased with how it came out :)). I also tapered the bottom corners in just a but.

And now I have a new peplum dress! :D The BEST thing is that when I sit down, the peplum covers my belly! So this dress is cute/fitted AND I can eat in it! YAY!
Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Peplum Dress

  1. Estera on said:

    sara!!! i don’t know why other ppl don’t comment on your stuff. i’m so impressed. haha wow!!

  2. haha no one else comments b/c no one else reads! :) thanks! i had a lot of fun with this dress

  3. sara!! i just found out about this blog. i think no one comments bc nobody knows about it! you should have it linked to your fb. this is great!!! gonna greader this. :)

    -cmyung

  4. sooooooooooooooooo cute

  5. Hannah W. on said:

    YAYYYYY!!! although i can’t see myself getting crafty, i really like looking through the step by step pictures. hehe~ now i’ll know when something cute you wear to church is your own creation! yayyyy.

  6. <3 <3 <3
    I just saw your blog on christine's blog. hahaha. :)

  7. Michi on said:

    Sara, I had no idea you’re quite the amazing crafter! I’ve been reading all your entries just now and decided to finally comment on this one! よくできましたね!

    • aww :) Hi Michi! Thanks for the comment! hehe my blog has been a little neglected, but I’m trying to start it back up soon. :) YOU should have a blog!!! do you?

  8. Pingback: The Peplum. | Hopes and Seams

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

